Five Minute Friday: Belong

 When I was just about to start high school my family moved to a somewhat rural part of the city.  We lived in an old wood house with a woodburning stove.  My mom and her husband worked really hard to “blend” our families, but there would always be a struggle for us all to feel in-place.  It was particularly difficult for us kids.  My brother and I were living in an unfamiliar home and we both changed schools that year.  My stepsisters had to deal with us kids usurping their territory so every time they came to visit their dad, they saw that what had been their childhood home was changing to become more our territory than theirs.  I think this experience has influenced my sense of belonging even until today.

This is a post for Five-Minute Friday at Lisa Jo Baker’s website:  http://lisajobaker.com/five-minute-friday/

 
Five Minute Friday

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Belong

Leave a Reply

