Five Minute Fridays.

In order to maintain momentum on this blog I’m taking a page from Kara of “Free as Trees” who seems to have a posting schedule.  Every Friday I will take five minutes to unload my mind onto the blog.

This week has been a strange one for me.  The weather in Alberta is decidedly “un-summery” with tornado warnings and heavy thunderstorms nearly every day.  It is a little bit depressing, especially for those who suffer from SAD… but not for me!  The gorgeous green of the prairie against the blue-black cloudy skies makes me feel happy to be here! As some of you know, I am not a prairie girl.  I am decidedly not a prairie girl.  I grew up in a land of big trees, deep valleys, salt air, and lots of rain.  Yesterday’s rainstorm felt just a tiny bit like home.  Ayce and I walked all over town in the downpour.

It feels wrong not to have mountains holding the earth in on the sides, and the lack of water here is disturbing.  It took Joel and me a long time to get used to being out here.  Now though, with the arrival of Ayce, we are working on putting down roots.

We’re currently house-shopping for a long-term home near all the amenities that Ayce needs.  This means coming to terms with the fact that we’re not going to be moving back to our Island any time soon.  This also means that the huge physical distance between us and our families will remain.  This is a hard transition.  It is hard on everyone, really.  Ayce is the first grandchild for both sets of parents (my stepfather has grandchildren but Ayce is my mother’s first biological grandchild).  We do a lot of Skyping and phone calling, but it is not the same.  I guess it’s part of “growing up”; we’re creating our own family now, and making those family connections with nearby friends.

Leave a Reply

